Naomi Shimada: Sunshine in Human Form

“Only I own this body. This is mine and I don’t want to let anybody else make me feel different about the only thing that I have and that’s truly mine.”

The first time I saw photos of Naomi Shimada, I was very much drawn to her energy, colorful clothes, and infectious smile. I used to check her blog for new posts to read and I always thought about how cool it would be to be friends with her. But more than that, she’s the first woman that made me realize that celebrating oneself is a beautiful thing and that there is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of.

🍊🍊🍊🍊🍊 by @fr3nchiejane for @ohcomelymag

A post shared by naomi shimada (@naomishimada) on

Naomi Shimada is a model and a film-maker who is set on redefining beauty in the fashion world. Now, I’m not really into fashion; I’m as un-stylish as one can be, but you don’t have to know a lot about fashion to see that there is something amiss in the way men and women are viewed in the “plus” industry. Naomi Shimada addresses the bullshit that is ever present in her line of work. In an interview with The Guardian she says, “It [padding] didn’t feel right at first. I had a real moral dilemma about padding myself – surely the benefit of modelling plus was that I didn’t have to change my body. We’re the ones who are supposed to be “redefining beauty”, right? “

And just when I thought it wasn’t possible to love Naomi more, her interview with StyleLikeU did it for me.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

